If you’ve ever been in a traffic accident, had a moving violation like a speeding ticket or any other incident as a driver, you’re probably aware of the “points” on your Missouri license.

These points can determine many things, including your eligibility to have a license, any driving restrictions and even the cost of your car insurance.

Read below to learn how you get points, when they go away, and how to get them removed early!

Missouri’s Point System

On average, each moving violation (failure to stop at stop sign, speeding, etc) will add 2 points to your record. Below is a list of other common driving violations.

  • Speeding ticket issued by state police officer – 3 points
  • Speeding ticket issued by county or municipal police officer – 2 points
  • DWI (1st time) – 8 points
  • Driving While Suspended – 12 points
  • Failure to Produce Insurance I.D. – 4 points
  • No Driver’s License (1st time) – 2 points
  • Failure to Yield Right-of-Way – 2 points

For a full list of traffic violations and points assessed, visit the Missouri Department of Revenue website.

License Suspension/Revocation

In Missouri your license will get suspended if you get 8 or more points within 18 months.

  • 1st suspension – 30 days
  • 2nd suspension – 60 days
  • 3rd or more suspensions – 90 days

Your driving privileges will be revoked for one year if you get:

  • 12 or more points in 12 months
  • 18 or more points in 24 months
  • 24 or more points in 36 months

How Long Are Points On My Record?

After your driving privileges are re-instated following a point suspension/revocation, your total points will get reduced to 4. Every year you drive without receiving additional points, your points will be reduced.

Your points can be reduced to 0, but some convictions will require the points to be on your record permanently.

How Do I Remove Tickets From My Record?

Although your points may come off your record after 18 months, tickets will remain on your record for three years or more.

If the ticket leads to a suspension or revocation of your license, the ticket will stay on your record for 5 years. However, some tickets stay on your record permanently, such as DWIs, no insurance, vehicular manslaughter and other serious violations.

Although some tickets are automatically removed from your record when the Missouri Department of Revenue does an annual sweep of their records, not all tickets that are eligible for removal get caught.

Keep track of the tickets on your record and call the Missouri Department of Revenue to see if they are eligible for removal.

How A Traffic Attorney Can Help With Suspensions or Guilty Pleas

If your license is suspended due to a failure to pay ticket fines, then you can hire a lawyer to negotiate a plea bargain to change your tickets to non-moving violations, which will reduce they points on your record and remove the suspension.

If you already plead guilty and paid ticket fines without using an attorney, you can retroactively consult with an attorney and have them file a motion on your behalf to amend the plea and in some cases, remove all points.

When in doubt about whether tickets and points are eligible to be removed from your record, call your friends at Marler Law Partners to get the most accurate information for your situation.

Schedule A Free Consultation With The Skilled Traffic Lawyers Of Marler Law Partners Today! >>